How to kill it at life – 4 must-read articles from last week

On the flight home from Cancun Mexico yesterday, I filtered through about 100 emails from all the blogs I follow and hadn’t checked from the past week. Here are the top 4 that I thought I’d share. Although I included little excerpts and teasers, I highly recommend you click the links and read the whole articles, and also follow the authors’ blogs. Enjoy:

 
1. James Clear http://jamesclear.com/stay-focused

Excerpt:

“Most of the time people talk about getting motivated and “amped up” to work on their goals. Whether it’s business or sports or art, you will commonly hear people say things like, “it all comes down to having enough passion.”

As a result, I think many people get depressed when they lose focus or motivation because they think that successful people have some unstoppable passion and willpower that they seem to be missing. But that’s exactly the opposite of what this coach was saying.

Instead, he was saying that really successful people feel the same boredom and the same lack of motivation that everyone else feels. They don’t have some magic pill that makes them feel ready and inspired every day. But the difference is that the people who stick with their goals don’t let their emotions determine their actions. Top performers still find a way to show up, to work through the boredom, and to embrace the daily practice that is required to achieve their goals.

According to him, it’s this ability to do the work when it’s not easy that separates the top performers from everyone else. That’s the difference between professionals and amateurs.

 
2. Neville at nevblog http://www.nevblog.com/how-to-get-your-life-back-on-track/

My favorite part (of many): “STACK YOUR CALENDAR: Simply GOING to events that interest you will help get some momentum going.  I started to skip a lot of tech events and conferences….and this bad, because those usually motivate the hell out of me (meeting other people doing cool things always makes you work harder). I still use a physical calendar to track all my stuff like this…

 
3. Eric barker http://www.bakadesuyo.com/2013/09/how-to-live-a-happy-life/ 

Teaser: Louis CK (comedian) explains the science of how to live a happy life. Funny video included!

 

4. Zen habits – the art of living http://zenhabits.net/aol/ 

Excerpt:

“For many years I simply lived, and got by. But in the last few years, after learning a bit about habits and mindfulness and simplicity and love, I have changed my approach to living.

Now I see living as an art form, to be studied and played with and practiced and mastered. Of course, few ever master the art of living, and I don’t know if I ever will. Probably not.

But I can pursue this art. I can appreciate it when others do it well. I can learn about it, through experiments and observation and introspection. My pursuit of the art of living is only just beginning, but I thought I’d share a bit about this pursuit with you, my good friends…

2 thoughts on “How to kill it at life – 4 must-read articles from last week

  1. Really enjoy your emails very well spoken and thought provoking. Look forward to your updates, hope you enjoyed Cancun…

Leave a Reply

