Habits – We are what we repeatedly do

Habit tracking has been my main focus this past month for 2 main reasons:

1. The direct value each habit brings to my life, including better health, higher energy,  increased happiness, etc.

2. Building character, willpower, and self-discipline through achieving daily and weekly habits.

I thought I’d share my habits and successes from this past week since I had a pretty good week.

habits - smart goals iphone app

 

1. Gratitude – Many studies show that showing gratitude and writing a few things down each day you’re grateful for can make you happier. Especially on Saturday morning, when I woke up early to get my smog check done (I had been putting this off for weeks) only to have my car fail the test, what helped was to pause for a second and think of things in my life I’m grateful for.

2. Exercise – I actually exercised 4 times this week, and beat my goal of 3x weekly. My go-to this week was a 100 push-up/50 pull-up workout.

3. Breakfast – I try to eat breakfast everyday, to start the morning right and get the metabolism going. Most days when I’m in a rush, I’ll cook up 2 or 3 eggs over easy with a cup of coffee. Today I tried a new breakfast restaurant called Oakland Grill and had the crab cake Benedict. Bomb.

4. You – This is doing something every day that keeps me progressing forward. Some examples of how I did ‘you’ from earlier in the week include reading “The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari” for an hour, a blog post I wrote, and hanging out with some friends. Today my ‘you’ was purchasing tickets to the Treasure Island Music Festival coming up in October.

For more on GEBY (gratitude, exercise, breakfast, you), check out this post: https://smartgoalsneverfail.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/geby-gratitude-exercise-breakfast-you-noah-kagans-daily-ritual/

5. Inbox Zero – It just feels so much better to finish work and go to bed with a clean inbox. My Mailbox app helps me hit this habit often.

6. Take Multivitamin – I take a multivitamin, fish oil, vitamin C, probiotic, and turmeric every day.

7. Go to Sleep by Midnight – Going to bed earlier and getting more rest gives me much more energy the next day. There is a noticeable difference in my overall energy level when I can get 8 hours of sleep vs when I don’t.

I would love to hear some of your daily or weekly habits and why you do them. Feel free to comment!

Leave a Reply

